About the LCC –

About the LCC

Mission Statement

The Lithuanian Canadian Community represents all Canadian residents who consider themselves Lithuanian either by birth or descent or loyalty or who choose to be supportive to Lithuanian Causes.

The Lithuanian Canadian Community is apolitical and maintains Lithuanian identity and consciousness through organized community events and activities.

Key Facts

In 1952, there were 17 chapters throughout Canada; this number has remained fairly constant. All Canadians of Lithuanian origin are considered to be members of the LCC. A membership fee is collected annually at the chapter level. Main sources of operating funds include voluntary donations from individual members and organizations, the Lithuanian Canadian Foundation, financial and commercial institutions, bequests. In some cases, provincial governments or the Federal Government provide assistance for approved special projects.
The voting body is the National Council of delegates at the LCC Council annual convention. Each chapter elects its delegates for a term of three years.
The National Council elects a National Executive for 3 years to carry out the business of the LCC which, in turn, reports to the Council at the annual convention.All positions on the National Executive and at the chapter and national level are voluntary; there is no compensation for time and work contributed within the LCC framework.

The LCC maintains an office in Toronto.

Key Dates

1949 – An interim organizational committee starts organizing people of Lithuanian origin in Canada.
1952 – First convention of Lithuanians in Canada results in the founding of The Lithuanian Canadian Community.
1963 – Under it’s official name, The Lithuanian Canadian Community (LCC) is granted a charter as ” . . .a body corporate and political without share capital for the purpose of carrying on, in more than one province of Canada, without pecuniary gain to its members, objects of a national, patriotic, religious, philanthropic, scientific, artistic, social, professional or sporting character, or the like…”
1972 – The LCC applies for and receives registered charity status for the Lithuanian Canadian Community Fund for Culture, Education and Charity.



I 1952 – 1955 Jonas Matulionis
II 1955 – 1957 Balys Sakalas
III 1957 – 1959 Vytautas Meilius
IV 1959 – 1962 Steponas Kesgaila
V 1962 – 1965 Dr. Petras Lukosevičius
VI 1965 – 1968 Antanas Rinkūnas
VII 1968 – 1971 Dr. Silvestras Čepas
VIII 1971 – 1974 Eugenijus Čuplinskas
IX 1974 – 1977 Jonas R. Simanavičius
X 1977 – 1980 Jonas R. Simanavičius
XI 1980 – 1983 Joana Kuraitė-Lasienė
XII 1983 – 1986 Algis Pacevičius
XIII 1986 – 1989 Vytautas Bireta
XIV 1989 – 1990 Algis Pacevičius
1990 – 1991 Juozas Krištolaitis
1991 – 1992 Gabija Petrauskienė & Vytautas Bireta
XV 1992 – 1995 Algirdas Vaičiūnas
XVI 1995 – 1998 Algirdas Vaičiūnas
XVII 1998 – 2001 Algirdas Vaičiūnas
XVIII 2001 – 2004 Rūta Žilinskienė
XIX 2004 – 2007 Rūta Žilinskienė

XX    2007-2010   Joana Kuraitė

XXI  2010-2013   Joana Kuraitė

XXII  2013-2017  Joana Kuraitė

XXIII  2017-            Kazimieras                                              Deksnys